Achtung! / Attention!

Diese Webseiten sind technisch und zum Teil auch inhaltlich veraltet; sie werden nicht mehr aktiv gepflegt. Ihr Inhalt wurde weitgehend in das aktuelle Webangebot GenWiki überführt, diese Migration konnte aber noch nicht abgeschlossen werden.

These pages are outdated, they aren't administered any longer. Most content was migrated to GenWiki, but the process isn't finished yet.

[Genealogie Homepage] [Neuigkeiten] [Allgemeine Hilfe] [Regionale Forschung
German Genealogy Home] [What's New] [General Help] [Regional Research]

Diese Seite ist auch auf deutsch verfügbar.


  • General Information
  • Associations and Societies
  • Genealogical and Historical Records
  • Gazetteers and Maps
  • Bibliography and Literature
  • Archives and Libraries
  • Other States and Places
  • Miscellaneous
  • Other Internet Resources

  • General Information


    Rhineland-Palatinate [puh-lat'-i-nayt] can today be found in the middle Rhine River valley in the west of Germany, bordering France and the state of Saarland to the south, Luxembourg and Belgium to the west, and the states of Nordrhein-Westfalen [North Rhine-Westphalia], Hessen and Baden-Wüttemberg to the north, east and southeast, respectively. The capital is Mainz. Other important cities are Kaiserslautern, Koblenz [Coblenz], Ludwigshafen, Pirmasens and Trier. It should not be confused with Oberpfalz [Upper Palatinate] which is part of present-day Bayern [Bavaria].  The state has an area of 19,850 square kilometers (7,664 square miles) and a population of 4.030.773 (1999) (2.055.512 women and 1.975.261 men). This are 203 persons per square kilometer.
    Prior to German unification in 1871, parts of this area were called the Rheinpfalz and was owned by the kingdom of Bavaria. See the History section for more information.

    Small Rheinland-Pfalz Map

    In 1900 the Bavarian Rheinpfalz had the following (13) Bezirksaemter (counties):
    Bergzabern, Frankenthal, Germersheim, Homburg, Kaiserslautern, Kirchheimbolanden, Kusel, Landau, Ludwigshafen, Neustadt/Hardt, Pirmasens, Speyer, Zweibrücken.

    In 1890, the province of Rheinhessen (cf. History) had the following (5) Kreise (counties):
    Alzey, Bingen, Mainz, Oppenheim, Worms.

    In 1890, in the province of Rheinhessen (cf. History) the highest court in the Grandduchy of Hessen was the Oberlandesgericht in Darmstadt. The provincial court for Rheinhessen was Landgericht Mainz with (11) Amtsgerichte:
    Alzey, Bingen, Mainz, Niederolm, Oberingelheim, Oppenheim, Osthofen, Pfeddersheim, Woellstein, Woerrstadt, Worms.

    [Top of document]

    Associations and Societies

    Genealogical Associations and Societies

    Historical Associations and Societies

    Other Associations and Societies

    [Top of document]

    Genealogical and Historical Records

    Note: the Family History Library records system divides the region into two distinct entities, "Rhineland" and "Pfalz". The latter is listed under "Germany, Bayern" while the former can be found under "Germany, Preussen, Rhineland", i.e. a system reflecting the 1871 territorial arrangements.

    [Top of document]

    Gazetteers and Maps

    [Top of document]

    Bibliography and Literature